View Print Catalog

Reading Instruction
& Assessment

Best selling, research-based resources for effective reading instruction and assessment.

ATP Assesments
Standardized Tests
for Pre-K through Adult


Phonic Books Complete Series

Phonics-Based Fantasy/Adventure Books for Older Readers

Students age 8-14 will have fun reading eight exciting 10 or 12 book series featuring one continuous story in each series, while practicing reading new sound-spellings with every book! Each series of books builds in phonics progression starting at CVC/CVCC, 1 and 2 letter, 2 syllable words — through CCVCC 3 and 4 letter, 3 syllable words. Each Phonic Book contains richly-illustrated pages with quick-moving stories to keep readers engaged and minimize frustration and fatigue.

The Phonics Books Series are:

  • Designed for guided or independent reading
  • Ideal for practicing specific decoding patterns in the context of a larger narrative
  • Text is supported by color pictures on each page
  • Each book focuses on a set of sound-spellings for readers to practice
  • Action-packed stories in short books (about 300 words each)
  • Eight series (86 books) provide many opportunities to teach and practice decoding skills

Included in Phonic Books: Complete Series
are these sets:

Magic Belt Series (12 books)
Alba Series (12 books)
Totem Series (12 books)
Talisman Series One (10 books)
Rescue Series (10 books)
Titan's Gauntlets Series (10 books)
Talisman Series Two (10 books)
Amber Guardians Series (10 books)

Phonic Books Treasure Chest New!

Workbooks Included for Each Series


The entire Phonic Books Complete Series along with eight reproducible classroom workbooks (one for each series) are available for a discount price in our Treasure Chest; a sturdy container that’s easy to pack and carry.

About the Workbooks
Each workbook is 180+ pages and provides a variety of activities including word-building, blending, segmenting, comprehension, spelling and vocabulary exercises based on the characters and adventures in each series.

Workbooks are all spiral-bound and reproducible for classroom use. The workbooks are also available individually for each set in the series.

Click below to order the Treasure Chest, or click the series links at the bottom to learn more about individual series and supplemental reproducible activities workbooks.

qquick look

Reading Level

Interest Level


Grades 2-8

Subject/Genre: Adventure Fantasy

Recommended Ages: 8-14+

Pages: 12, 16 & 26 pp., 5 7/8 x 8 1/4, softcover


Item No.






Discounted Pricing on Complete Series
Set of 86 Books - 8 Complete Series



Talisman Cards Decks 1-10



Discounted Pricing for the Treasure Chest
Set of 86 books (8 Complete Series), 8 Workbooks, 1 Introductory Workbook, and Reading Intervention Booklet, in a sturdy, easy to carry container


See Also... (Sold Separately)


Item No. / Product Title



Phonic Books: Titan's Gauntlets



Phonic Books: Rescue Series



Phonic Books: Alba Series



Phonic Books: Magic Belt Series



Phonic Books: Talisman 1 Series



Phonic Books: Totem Series


  ©2018 Academic Therapy Publications. All rights reserved worldwide.   |   Top
"Leaders in High Interest/Low Level Readers and special education products since 1965"