View Print Catalog

Reading Instruction
& Assessment

Best selling, research-based resources for effective reading instruction and assessment.

ATP Assesments
Standardized Tests
for Pre-K through Adult


Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Series

Catch-Up Readers

Designed for older students, these books can be used to either teach or reinforce new and already learned decoding skills. All seven progressive phonics series feature action-packed stories divided into books with short word counts, with the conclusion of the story in each set's final book.

  • Designed for guided or independent reading
  • Ideal for practicing specific decoding patterns in the context of a larger narrative
  • Text is supported by color pictures on each page
  • Each book focuses on a set of sound-spellings for readers to practice
  • Action-packed stories in short books (average 20-40 words per book)

    Moon Dogs Series

    The Moon Dogs Series is designed to appeal to older, catch-up pupils at the very early stages of reading. The series offers two sets of books, each set containing eight books. Set 1 introduces sounds gradually and reinforces reading these in CVC words. All words are at CVC level with one line of text to the page. Set 2 begins with text at CVC level and continues through the digraphs ch, sh, th, ck, ng, qu and wh. Set 3 introduces two spellings for vowel sounds. The series is designed around a group of teenage friends who are in a band and offers short, humorous stories about their lives. Reading skills are developed through step-by-step progression which allows practice and consolidation at each level. The series complements any synthetic phonics teaching program.

    Set 1

    Set 2

    Set 3

  • Book 1: s,a,t,i,m
  • Book 2: n,o,p
  • Book 3: b,c,g,h
  • Book 4: d,e,f,v
  • Book 5: k,l,r,u
  • Book 6: j,w,z
  • Book 7: x,y,ff,ll,ss,zz
  • Book 8: All initial sounds CVC
  • Book 1: CVC
  • Book 2: VCC, CVCC
  • Book 3: CCVC
  • Book 4: CCVCC
  • Book 5: ch
  • Book 6: sh
  • Book 7: th,ng
  • Book 8: ck,qu
  • Book 1: ai, ay
  • Book 2: ee, ea
  • Book 3: oa, ow
  • Book 4: ur, ir
  • Book 5: e, ea
  • Book 6: ow, ou
  • Book 7: oo, ue
  • Book 8: igh, i
  • Book 9: oo, oul
  • Book 10: a, aw
  • Book 11: oy, oi
  • Book 12: ar, a
  • Book 13: air, are
  • Book 14: ear, eer

  • A workbook complements the books in each set of the Moon Dogs Series. The activities in this workbook develop the underlying skills for reading: blending, segmenting and phoneme manipulation at CVC word level. They also teach phonic knowledge needed to read words at this level.
    84 pp., 8-1/2 x 11-1/2, spiral-bound.

  • qquick look

    Reading Level

    Interest Level

    1st Grade Readability

    Ages 8-14

    Recommended Ages: 8-14

    Pages: 6 pp, 5-7/8 x 8-1/4, softcover

    Sets in This Series (Available Separately)

    Item No.






    1 set of 8 titles Learn More



    1 set of 8 titles Learn More



    1 set of 14 titles Learn More


    See Also... (Sold Separately)


    Item No. / Product Title



    Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Series Set 2



    Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Series Set 3



    Phonic Books: Totem Series



    Phonic Books: Talisman 1 Series



    Phonic Books: Alba Series



    Phonic Books: Magic Belt Series


      ©2018 Academic Therapy Publications. All rights reserved worldwide.   |   Top
    "Leaders in High Interest/Low Level Readers and special education products since 1965"