View Print Catalog

Reading Instruction
& Assessment

Best selling, research-based resources for effective reading instruction and assessment.

ATP Assesments
Standardized Tests
for Pre-K through Adult

1st Grade Phonics

Dandelion Launchers

Designed to appeal to young students at the very early stage of reading.

Dandelion Launchers Set 1

Constructed for beginner readers ages 3 through 8, these books focus on reading letter sounds in CVC words. The first books have words using the sounds s, a, t, i, and m. Later books use these sounds and gradually introduce new ones. By the end of Unit 7, all of the initial sounds of the alphabet will have been introduced.

  • Book 1A: s, a, t, i, m
  • Book 1B: s, a, t, i, m
  • Book 2A: n, o, p
  • Book 2B: n, o, p
  • Book 3A: b, c, g, h
  • Book 3B: b, c, g, h
  • Book 4A: d, e, f, v
  • Book 4B: d, e, f, v
  • Book 5A: k, l, r, u
  • Book 5B: k, l, r, u
  • Book 6A: j, w, z
  • Book 6B: j, w, z
  • Book 7A: x, y, ff, ll, ss, zz
  • Book 7B: x, y, ff, ll, ss, zz

Dandelion Launchers Set 2 (Stages 8 through 15) follows on from Dandelion Launchers Set 1 (Stages 1-7) and introduces longer words with 4 and 5 sounds and the sounds ch, sh, th, ck and ng.

  • Book 8a: CVCC
  • Book 8b: CVCC
  • Book 9a: CVCC
  • Book 9b: CVCC
  • 10a: CCVCC
  • 10b: CCVC
  • 11a: ch
  • 11b: ch
  • 12a: sh
  • 12b: sh
  • 13a: th
  • 13b: th
  • 14a: ck
  • 14b: ck, wh
  • 15a: ng
  • 15b: ng, qu

How to use these books
Dandelion Launchers follow a structured sequence to ensure incremental progression when learning to read. Each unit introduces new phonic knowledge and skills while reinforcing those learned in previous units.

Before reading, check that the child knows the target sounds in this book and their corresponding letters. Readers should then be encouraged to use their phonic knowledge to read the word by blending the sounds together from left to right throughout the word (e.g. 'c' 'a' 't'---cat). Always encourage the reader to use pure sounds. These are the sounds of consonants without the added 'uh' sound (e.g. 'c' 'a' 't' not 'cuh' 'a' 'tuh'). Praise the child when they use their developing phonic knowledge to read new words.

qquick look

Reading Level

Interest Level

1st Grade Readability

Ages 3-8

Recommended Ages: Ages 3-8

Pages: 5-7/8 x 8-1/4, 8 pp. each

Sets in This Series (Available Separately)

Item No.






Set 1: 1 set of 14 books Learn More



Set 2: 1 set of 16 books Learn More


See Also... (Sold Separately)


Item No. / Product Title



Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Series Set 1



Phonic Books: Magic Belt Series



Phonic Books: Alba Series



Phonic Books: Totem Series



Phonic Books: Talisman 1 Series



Phonic Books: Rescue Series


  ©2018 Academic Therapy Publications. All rights reserved worldwide.   |   Top
"Leaders in High Interest/Low Level Readers and special education products since 1965"