View Print Catalog

Reading Instruction
& Assessment

Best selling, research-based resources for effective reading instruction and assessment.

ATP Assesments
Standardized Tests
for Pre-K through Adult


Phonic Books: Totem Series

Catch-Up Readers

Zak is eleven years old. He lives with his Grandpa. Every day, he must take the sheep up to the hills to graze, but he is bored with his job. He dreams of adventure. One day, he takes his shepherd’s staff and his pet kid into the hills with his flock, as usual. Two men kidnap him and his adventures begin. Along the way, his staff acquires special powers. He makes a new friend and, together they face great danger. How will they survive? Will Zak ever see his Grandpa again?

  • Designed for guided or independent reading
  • Ideal for practicing specific decoding patterns in the context of a larger narrative
  • Text is supported by color pictures on each page
  • Each book focuses on a set of sound-spellings for readers to practice
  • Action-packed stories in short books (about 300 words each)

    Totem Series

    The Totem Series is 12 fantasy/adventure stories for students ages 8 through 14 who would benefit from a beginning phonics program. This series starts at CVC/CVCC level text, then builds up reading skills in a step-by-step phonic progression, allowing practice and consolidation at each level. To promote interest, the series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.

  • Book 1: CVC, CVCC (CVC, CVCC)
  • Book 2: CVCC (CVC, CVCC, CCVC)
  • Book 3: CCVCC (CVC, CVCC, CCVCC)
  • Book 4: 'sh', 'ch', 'th' (sh, ch, th)
  • Book 5: 'ck', 'ng', 'qu', 'wh' (ck, ng, qu, wh)
  • Book 6: 'ae' (ai, ay, ae, a)
  • Book 7: 'ee' (ee, ea, e, y, ey)
  • Book 8: 'oe' (oe, ow, oa, o)
  • Book 9: 'er' (er, ir, ur)
  • Book 10: 'ow' (ow, ou)
  • Book 11: 'ie' (igh, ie, y, i)
  • Book 12: 'oo' (oo, ew, ue, u)

    Totem Series Workbook

    This spiral-bound photocopiable workbook (224 pages) includes 12 chapters which correspond to the 12 books in the reading series. Following the same phonic progression, it provides a variety of activities including wordbuilding, blending, segmenting, comprehension, and vocabulary exercises based on the characters and adventures in the Magic Belt Series

    Talisman Cards

    sampleTalisman Cards are a collection of 20 beautifully illustrated card decks students can use to play a fast-paced game that gives them plenty of phonic skills practice. Starting at the CVC word level, the decks introduce consonant digraphs and alternative spellings for vowel sounds. Each deck of 56 cards corresponds to a phonic focus contained in the Phonic Books Series.

  • qquick look

    Reading Level

    Interest Level


    Grades 2-8

    Subject/Genre: Adventure Fantasy

    Recommended Ages: 8-14

    Pages: 12 pp, 5-7/8 x 8-1/4, softcover


    Item No.






    1 Set of 12 Books


    Workbooks and Accessories (Available Separately)

    Item No.






    Totem Series Workbook



    Talisman Cards Decks 1-10


    See Also... (Sold Separately)


    Item No. / Product Title



    Phonic Books: Magic Belt Series



    Phonic Books: Talisman 1 Series



    Phonic Books Complete Series



    Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Series Set 1



    Phonic Books: Rescue Series



    Phonic Books Spin, Read and Spell! Book 1


      ©2018 Academic Therapy Publications. All rights reserved worldwide.   |   Top
    "Leaders in High Interest/Low Level Readers and special education products since 1965"